Accepting volunteers at our
17 fire stations in
Kershaw County, SC

 Volunteers make up 92% of the firefighters who serve in Kershaw County Fire Service.  

Kershaw County Fire Service (KCFS) was established as an all-volunteer department in 1974.  Over the years Kershaw County's population has grown exponentially and this growth has placed more demand on the all-volunteer service.  In 2019, County Council approved adding 10 paid firefighters to the county fire service, therefore, KCFS became a combination department (paid and volunteer members). 

KCFS cannot function without the support of volunteer members.  KCFS is looking for men and women ages 18+ to volunteer in their local communities.  KCFS serves all the unincorporated areas of Kershaw County that are not served by Lugoff or Camden Fire Departments.  This also includes the towns of Bethune and Elgin.  




Become a Volunteer Firefighter!
Contact Us   

Thanks for submitting!